Hey… I’d like to ask you all a favor.

I’m gay.

In my state and many others I’m not allowed to do a lot of things that hetero couples can do. I’m not trying to tell you I’m right in what I like to do in the bedroom, I’m not trying to tell you you’re wrong.

What I am asking for is a simple understanding that regardless of legal or social pressure, I’m going to live my life with a same sex partner.

And since that’s the case, why not let it go and let me be happy? All you’re doing is creating stress, for yourself and for others whom I care very much about.

If you weren’t thinking about what I do behind closed doors with consenting adults, you instead could focus on the very real problems that actually affect each and every one of us. Examples include our borders (leaky like a sieve), our financial system (Wall street debacle no. 543), our educational system (‘is our children learning?’), and elder care – because damnit we owe our grandparents and parents decent care.

Frankly a large portion of our political system per se is in need of a serious reboot. I think we can all agree on that, whatever the specific changes we’d like to see put in place. Let me help. All I ask for in return is an equal seat at the table.

In the meantime, if you’re in support of giving non-traditional households equal rights to caring for each other and providing for each other (and filing taxes with each other) – why not show it?

check this site out: http://marriageboycott.ning.com/

And then, if you don’t mind, answer a simple question.

Equality Ring - Looks as cool as the person wearing it.
Equality Ring - Looks as cool as the person wearing it.
One thought on “Hey… I’d like to ask you all a favor.

Leave a Reply

